You can search the diocesan database for parishes and mission communities and to find out contact details for clergy, readers and parish officers, where they have given their permission to be included.

Parish Details for Newport

Archdeaconry: Barnstaple
Deanery: Barnstaple
Benefice: Barnstaple
Mission Community: Barnstaple

Clergy in the parish

The Rev David Fletcher
Community Priest for St Peter and St Mary Magdalene Barnstaple and Town Centre Chaplain

The Vicarage, Sowden Lane, Barnstaple, EX32 8BU
Tel: 01271 373837
Email The Rev David Fletcher

The Rev Dr Nigel Dilkes
Community Priest for Pilton and Ashford, and Mission Community Minister for Primary Schools and Young Families

The Rectory, 4 Northfield Lane, Pilton, Barnstaple, EX31 1QB
Tel: 01271 343225
Email The Rev Dr Nigel Dilkes

The Rev Guy ChaveCox
V in the Barnstaple TM with special responsibility for Sticklepath with Roundswell and Barnstaple Mission Community Coordinator

St Pauls Vicarage, Old Sticklepath Hill, Barnstaple, EX31 2BG
Tel: 01271 344400
Email The Rev Guy ChaveCox

The Rev Marion Sanders
Assistant Curate

3 Westaway Close, Pilton, Barnstaple, EX31 1RU
Tel: 01271 346003
Email The Rev Marion Sanders

The Rev Andy Dodwell
Curate in Charge of Newport Bishops Tawton Pioneer Minister

28 Old School Road, Newport, Barnstaple, EX32 9DP
Tel: 01271 371068
Email The Rev Andy Dodwell

The Rev Shirley Paterson
Assistant Curate of Barnstaple

Elm Cottage, Ladywell, Pilton, Barnstaple, EX31 1QS
Tel: 01271 346095
Email The Rev Shirley Paterson

Churches in the parish

St. John The Baptist (Parish Church)
South Street
EX32 9DT

Parish officers


Mrs Sandra Doreen Jeffery
Tel: 01271 342297

PCC Secretary

Mrs Jacqueline Yvonne Rudman
Tel: 01271 375470
Email Mrs Jacqueline Yvonne Rudman

PCC Treasurer

Mr Martin John Kennaugh
Tel: 01271 549248
Email Mr Martin John Kennaugh


Mr John Hartfield
Email Mr John Hartfield

Ms Joanna Pay
Tel: 01271 323658
Email Ms Joanna Pay