Election to General Synod

General Synod Election Nominations

The closing date for General Synod election nominations has now passed. Here in the Diocese of Exeter, we will elect four lay people and four clergy to serve as our representatives. Ballot papers will be issued to qualified electors on 18th September and voting will close on 9th October 2015. The following people have been nominated as candidates for election to the General Synod in 2015 and their election addresses can be viewed by clicking on each candidate’s name.

House of Laity (4 places to be filled)

Mrs Penelope Cowell Doe

Mrs Rosalie Emerton

Mrs Anne Foreman

Miss Emma Forward

Mr Simon Friend

Mr David Goodyear

Mrs Wendy Meredith

Mr Julian Payne

Mrs Pauline Pitman

Dr Samuel Robinson

Dr Jack Shelley

Dr Peter Smith

Mr Andrew Stilliard

Mr Roger Thomas

Dr Brian Walker

Mrs Jeanette Wilmot

House of Clergy (4 places to be filled)

The Revd David Appleby

The Revd Simon Austen

The Revd David Bailey

The Ven Douglas Dettmer

The Revd Robin Eastoe

The Revd Geoffrey Fenton

The Revd Canon Andrew Godsall

The Revd Graham Hamilton

The Revd Canon Anna Norman-Walker

Details about exactly who is qualified as an elector are available on the Electors page.

The Presiding Officer can also be contacted by post at The Old Deanery, The Cloisters, Exeter EX1 1HS.

If you require any further help, please feel free to contact us.

Our Vision

Growing in prayer, Making new disciples, Serving the people of Devon with joy
Find out more >

Email Bulletin

Want to receive regular updates and news from the Diocese?
Find out more >

Events & Training

Share and find the latest local, regional and national events.
Find out more >

Latest News

Get updates and be encouraged by the latest news.
Find out more >


Here you will find a list of all the documents that are available to download.
Find out more >

Diocesan Directory

Search the Diocesan Directory.
Find out more >