CAPTION: Diocesan logo

Busy time ahead for Diocesan Synod with five elections starting this month

Posted: 3rd October, 2018

There is a busy time ahead for the members of the new Diocesan Synod as this month sees the beginning of five elections for which they make up the electorate: the Bishop’s Diocesan Council, the Vacancy in See Committee, the Diocesan Board of Patronage, the Diocesan Board of Education and the Archidiaconal Mission and Pastoral Committees.

Apart from the election to the Bishop’s Diocesan Council, candidates in the lay elections must be actual communicants, aged 16 or over and be on the electoral roll of a parish in the diocese, or the community roll of the cathedral. Candidates in the clergy elections must be ordained priests and be beneficed or licensed in the diocese.  This varies slightly in the elections to the Archidiaconal Pastoral Committees in that candidates must be beneficed, licensed, or on a parochial electoral roll in the relevant archdeaconry.

The election to Bishop’s Diocesan Council is an election to three separate statutory and independent bodies: the Bishop’s Council and Standing Committee, the Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee and the Executive of the Diocesan Board of Finance. All three bodies have the same membership and meet at the same time under the title of the Bishop’s Diocesan Council. Any clerk in Holy Orders who is a member of the House of Clergy of the Diocesan Synod may stand for election to the BDC, with each archdeaconry constituting a separate electoral area. Lay candidates must be members of the House of Laity of the Diocesan Synod and again each archdeaconry constitutes a separate electoral area.

All candidates are to be nominated and seconded by qualified electors using the following Nomination form.