Retired Clergy

Retired Clergy and Widows’ and Widowers’ Officers

Ministry in Retirement

Retired Clergy Association – Devon Branch

Church of England Pensions’ Board

St Luke’s Healthcare for the Clergy, and Other Help

“I am enormously grateful to the retired clergy in the Exeter Diocese for all they continue to do in the service of God’s Kingdom.  Their time, skills and gifts contribute to the life and well-being of our Mission Communities, and I know that the wise and prayerful support of retired clergy can make all the difference to our licensed clergy.  I thank them for all they give to the ministry in the Diocese.” Bishop Robert

Retired Clergy and Widows’ and Widowers’ Officers

The diocese has appointed officers in each archdeaconry, who are themselves retired, under the leadership of the Archdeacon of Barnstaple, to offer support to retired clergy and clergy widows and widowers when required.  Briefly, their ministry offers welcome to those moving into the diocese and those newly retiring, to support the rural dean and local clergy in their primary pastoral ministry to the retired, and to be aware of the needs which may arise, and the help or support available.

For a description of the ministry of officers, download the following document: Role Descriptions for BRCWOs (Extract)

BRCO/CWWO Team Support and Admin
Prebendary Giles King-Smith
Phone 07547 973375 or 01271 879601 Email Giles

Barnstaple Archdeaconry

Deaneries of Barnstaple, Shirwell, and South Molton
The Reverend Steven Martin
Phone 01805 621351 Email Steven

Deaneries of Hartland, Holsworthy, and Torrington
The Reverend Stephen Skinner
Phone 01237 431622 Email Stephen

Exeter Archdeaconry

Retired Clergy officers:
Deanery of Aylesbeare
The Reverend Christopher Cant
Phone 01395 488178 Email Christopher

Deanery of Cadbury
The Reverends David & Jenny Francis
Phone 01363 776606 Email Jenny & David

Deanery of Christianity

Prebendary Robin Eastoe

Phone 07813 289 932

Email Robin

Deanery of Honiton

Deanery of Kenn
The Reverend Helena Cermakova
Phone 07749 771 857 Email Helena

Deanery of Ottery
The Reverend David Fayle
Phone 07789 888 578
E-mail David 

Deanery of Tiverton and Cullompton
Prebendary Simon May
Phone 07980 305 076
E-mail Simon

Plymouth Archdeaconry

Deaneries of Ivybridge and Tavistock
The Reverend Mike Fairall
Phone 01822 610926. Email Mike

Deanery of Plymouth City
The Reverend Judy Greenfield
Phone 07730 606511 Email Judy

Totnes Archdeaconry

Deanery of Newton Abbot
Prebendary John Good
Phone 01626 873181 Email John

Deanery of Torbay
The Reverend Nicholas Pearkes
Phone 07881 525847 Email Nicholas

Deaneries of Okehampton, Totnes, and Woodleigh
The Reverend George Day
Phone 01364 643912 Email George

Ministry in Retirement

For information about Permission to Officiate, Safeguarding, Fees payable to Retired Clergy for Occasional Offices, Cathedral Chaplaincy, and Continuing Ministerial Development: Ministry in Retirement

Bishop’s Staff have issued guidelines about what clergy with or without PtO can do: Ministry with and without PtO

The Archdeacons have issued guidelines for retired clergy who are asked to conduct funeral services: Guidance for Clergy and Funeral Directors about retired Church of England clergy taking funerals (July 2017)

Retired Clergy Association – Devon Branch

Devon RCA is open and inclusive: retired stipendiary and self-supporting clergy of all denominations are welcome – you need not be a member of the national Retired Clergy Association.  We meet most months on (usually) 2nd Tuesday at for Holy Communion, refreshments and a speaker.  There is a ‘Quiet Day’ in May, and also two social events during the year, the ‘Epiphany Lunch’ in January, and ‘Summer Drinks’ in July.

At National Level: President, The Bishop of Guildford

Chairman, Bishop Ian Brackley

Secretary & Treasurer, The Reverend Malcolm Liles


Devon Retired Clergy Association

Branch Chairman, Bishop Oliver Simon

Branch Secretary, & Exeter and Truro Dioceses Representative on national RCA Council

The Reverend David Lewis

Phone 01884 829212 Email David

Committee members

The Reverend Trevor Filtness, Canon Ruth Oates, The Reverend Nicholas Pearkes, Prebendary Peter Rapsey, Venerable John Rawlings (branch treasurer).

Registered members without email are sent information by post usually two or three times a year.  Those with email get reminders and updates.   We meet the cost by asking for a subscription of only £5 per year, irrespective of whether someone is a life-member of the national RCA or not.  New members are always very welcome!

Devon RCA Programme of meetings: Programme 2023

Church of England Pensions’ Board

For Correspondence: 29 Great Smith St, Westminster, London   SW1P 3PS

For Pensions: Phone 020 7898 1802 Email.

For Housing: Phone 020 7898 1824 Email.

Housing Maintenance (for Pensions Board rented homes only)

The current Contractor is ‘Sanctuary Maintenance’

For gas boilers: 0800 288 9289, For general house maintenance: 0800 916 1413

Gracey Court (Church of England Pensions Board supported housing)

The Manager welcomes enquiries from retired clergy or widows or widowers, and can offer further information or arrange a visit.

Gracey Court, Woodlands Road, Broadclyst, Exeter EX5 3GA, Phone 01392 462574

St Luke’s Healthcare and other help

Retired clergy and their spouses are eligible for help from St Luke’s. The following document also provides information on charities and advice or grant-giving bodies. They are not listed in any particular order: Sources of help.