Diocesan Staff

Bishops’ Offices

The Bishop of Exeter
Rt Rev Robert Atwell: 01392 272362
Email the Bishop

The Bishop of Exeter’s Executive Assistant
Justine Tear 01392 272362
Email Justine Tear

The Bishop of Exeter’s Secretary
Claire Sherlock 01392 272362
Email Claire Sherlock

The Bishop’s Chaplain
Revd Preb Graham Stones 01392 272362
Email Graham Stones

The Bishop of Crediton
The Rt Rev Jackie Searle
Email the Bishop

The Bishop of Crediton’s Personal Assistant
Lawder Smith 01884 250002
Email Lawder Smith

The Bishop of Plymouth
The Rt Revd Nick McKinnel
Email the Bishop

The Bishop of Plymouth’s Personal Assistant
Helen Filewod 01752 500059
Email Helen Filewod

Archdeacons’ Offices

The Archdeacon of Barnstaple
The Venerable Dr Mark Butchers 01271 375475
Email the Archdeacon

The Archdeacon of Barnstaple’s Personal Assistant
Jacque Ward 01271 375475
Email the Archdeacon
This office is open from 9am-1pm on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday

The Archdeacon of Exeter
The Venerable Christopher Futcher 01392 425577
Email the Archdeacon

The Archdeacon of Exeter’s Personal Assistant
Peter Colebrook 01392 425577
Email Peter Colebrook
This office is open from 8.30am-1.30pm, Monday-Thursday

The Archdeacon of Plymouth
The Venerable Ian Chandler 01752 858382
Email the Archdeacon

The Archdeacon of Plymouth’s Personal Assistant
Debbie Delaney 01752 858382
Email the Archdeacon
This office is open from 9.30am to 12.30pm Monday – Thursday

The Archdeacon of Totnes
The Venerable Douglas Dettmer 01626 832064
Email the Archdeacon

The Archdeacon of Totnes’ Personal Assistant
Chris Brathwaite 01626 832064
Email the Archdeacon

Children and Young People

Diocesan Director of Education
John Searson 01392 294950
Email John Searson

Diocesan Deputy Director of Education
Sue Lockwood 01392 294933
Email Sue Lockwood

Diocesan Education Advisers:

Governance, Admissions and School Organisation
Christina Mabin 01392 294939
Email Christina Mabin

Lead on RE and SIAMS
Ed Pawson 01392 294943
Email Ed Pawson

Projects and Vulnerable Pupils
Tatiana Wilson 01392 294941
Email Tatiana Wilson

HE, FE and School Chaplaincy

Diocesan Education Officers:

Training and Traded Services
Fran Bradley 01392 294921
Email Fran Bradley

Compliance Communication and EDBE Support
Sarah Owen 01392 294938
Email Sarah Owen

New Schools Lead
Charlotte Weston 07876 541 561
Email Charlotte Weston

Website Content and General Office Administration
Liz Thomas 01392 294950
Email Liz Thomas

Church and Society

Director of Church and Society
Martyn Goss 01392 294924
Email Martyn Goss

Administrative Secretary
Joan Harris 01392 294940
Email Joan Harris

Social Responsibility Officer, Fairtrade and Faith in Action
Sally Farrant 01392 294918
Email Sally Farrant

Common Tenure

Contact your archdeacon.


Communications and Engagement Director

Digital Media Officer
John Moxon 01392 294904
Email John Moxon


For Yearbook and all contact changes
Janet Goddard 01392 294900
Email Janet Goddard

Church Buildings Office

Senior Church Buildings Adviser and Diocesan Advisory Committee Secretary

Church Buildings Adviser
Charlotte Vickers 01392 294945
Email Charlotte Vickers

Diocesan Secretary

Diocesan Secretary
Stephen Hancock 01392 294927
Email Stephen Hancock

Executive Assistant to the Diocesan Secretary
Annemarie Kendell 01392 294901
Email Annemarie Kendell


Director of Finance
Neil Williams 01392 294925
Email Neil Williams

Finance Manager
Michelle Clark 01392 294926
Email Michelle Clark

Finance Officer
Jessica Phillips 01392 294917
Email Jessica Phillips

Finance Officer
Serena Nott 01392 294949
Email Serena Nott

Finance Assistant
Cathy Thorne 01392 294914
Email Cathy Thorne

Finance Assistant
Sharon Deacon 01392 294916
Email Sharon Deacon

Mission Resources Adviser
Katie Stevenson 01392 294960
Email Katie Stevenson

Growing the Rural Church Project

Project Manager
Marian Carson 01392 294912
Email Marian Carson

Growing the Rural Church Project Officer
Sarah Cracknell 01392 294902
Email Sarah Cracknell

Executive Officer
Sophie West 01392 294907
Email Sophie West

Mission & Pastoral Office

Secretary to the Diocesan Mission and Pastoral Committee
Adrian Hough 01392 294910
Email Adrian Hough

Designated Officer for the Pastoral (Benefices) Measure and Mapping Officer
Alistair Sutherland 01392 294968
Email Alistair Sutherland

Property Services

Director of Property
Graham Davies 01392 294954
Email Graham Davies

Secretary and Administrator
Judith Feltham 01392 294954
Email Judith Feltham

Administrator School Buildings
Harry Tear 01392 294952
Email Harry Tear

Diocesan Surveyor (Education)
Jason Down 01392 294952
Email Jason Down

Diocesan Surveyor (Education)
Richard Power 01392 294952
Email Richard Power

Schools Funding Adviser
Raymond Twohig 01392 294913
Email Raymond Twohig

Diocesan Surveyor (Clergy housing)
Mark Lewis 01392 294954
Email Mark Lewis

Diocesan Surveyor (Clergy housing)
Peter Stanton 01392 294954
Email Peter Stanton


Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser
Charles Pitman
Telephone: 01392 345909
Email Charles

Assistant Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser
Phill Parker 01392 294969
Email Phill Parker

Administrator HR and Safeguarding
Hilary Burrow 01392 294975
Email Hilary Burrow

Human Resources

Director of People and Safeguarding
Anthea Carter-Savigear 01392 294947
Email Anthea

People Adviser
Caroline Sparks 01392 294959
Email Caroline

Synod Office

Assistant Diocesan Secretary
Ed Moffatt 01392 294928
Email Ed Moffatt

Executive Assistant
Sara Ashton 01392 294931
Email Sara Ashton

Executive Officer
Hannah Cross 01392 294911
Email Hannah Cross

Mission and Ministry

Director of Mission and Ministry
Revd Preb. Philip Sourbut 01392 294903
Email Philip Sourbut

PA to the Director of Mission and Ministry
Cathy Scoffield 01392 294973
Email Cathy Scoffield

Readers’ Administrator
Hannah Cross 01392 294911
Email Hannah Cross

Education for Discipleship (SWMTC)
Revd David Carrington
Email David Carrington

Diocesan Consultant for Liturgy and Music
Andrew Maries 01884 34389
Email Andrew Maries

Diocesan Mission Enabler
The Rev Barry Dugmore 01392 294920
Email Barry Dugmore

Mission and Ministry Development Team Leader
The Revd Jon Marlow 01392 294942
Email Jon Marlow

Children’s Work Adviser
Katherine Lyddon 01392 294937
Email Katherine Lyddon

Youth Work Adviser
Paul Reisbach 01392 294932
Email Paul Reisbach

Youth Church Adviser
The Revd James Grier 07825 610288
Email James Grier


Director of Ordinands
The Revd Canon Becky Totterdell 01392 477702
Email Becky Totterdell

PA to The Director of Ordinands
Andrew Godsall 01392 345907
Email Andrew Godsall

Diocesan Vocations Adviser
Hannah Alderson 01392 724804
Email Hannah Alderson

Our Vision

Growing in prayer, Making new disciples, Serving the people of Devon with joy
Find out more >

Email Bulletin

Want to receive regular updates and news from the Diocese?
Find out more >

Events & Training

Share and find the latest local, regional and national events.
Find out more >

Latest News

Get updates and be encouraged by the latest news.
Find out more >


Here you will find a list of all the documents that are available to download.
Find out more >

Diocesan Directory

Search the Diocesan Directory.
Find out more >