General Synod

Mr Simon Friend has been elected to General Synod after the casual lay election.

Simon said: “I think that my dear parents who were good Brethren stock would be mildly amused that I have been elected a member of the General Synod of the Church of England!  It is both humbling and a privilege – especially at this time of great change all around us.  Although I have been part of the Anglican church for the last 35 years – my Brethren roots still leave me with a feeling of being an outsider – on the edge.  Perhaps many of us feel like that.  And in a way – that is exactly where I want to be – because it seems to me that Jesus was always on the edge, at the margins – welcoming in those who did not feel they belonged or had no sense of home.  I want to be in that place on General Synod – particularly welcoming in and learning from those who have felt excluded and marginalised in our church and in our society.”

The following people have been elected to serve on General Synod until 2020:

House of Laity
Mrs Anne Foreman
Miss Emma Forward
Dr Jack Shelley
Mr Simon Friend

House of Clergy
The Ven. Douglas Dettmer
Rev Preb Cate Edmonds
Rev Preb Karl Freeman
Revd. Graham Hamilton