Education is a valued part of the Diocese of Exeter’s work in Devon. The Exeter Diocesan Board of Education Committee (DBE) has statutory responsibility for 134 Church of England Schools and is committed to ensuring these are a vital and thriving part of our diocese both now and into the future. Our schools include small rural primaries with mixed aged classes; large urban schools; infant, junior and primary schools, some with nursery provision; and five secondary schools with two providing further education courses.  These schools span three Local Authorities, four archdeaconries and twenty-five deaneries.  We work closely with other dioceses and have schools within groupings which span our three neighbouring dioceses.

Currently (September 2023) 82% of our schools are in a formal partnership – either a federation or academy trust.  Of those in formal partnerships, 71% are in an academy trust and 29% in a federation.  Our diocesan family is much larger than the 134 church schools as within these groupings are over 100 community schools.

If you would like to find out more about our work with schools, please explore our website (currently under review), contact us by email, and sign up to Flourish, our diocesan Education Team newsletter.