Clergy Discipline Measure

The Clergy Discipline Measure 2003, which came fully into force on 1st January 2006, provides a structure for dealing efficiently and fairly with formal complaints of misconduct against members of the clergy, other than in relation to matters involving doctrine, ritual or ceremonial. All those admitted to holy orders in the Church of England are covered by the Measure, whether or not in active ministry. Where the formal complaint concerns a priest or deacon, the disciplinary structure is centred on the bishop; where the complaint concerns a bishop, the structure is centred on the archbishop of the relevant province.

The CDM is not a basic complaints procedure. This process is for responding to allegations of serious misconduct by clergy.

Penalties issued under the Clergy Discipline Measure will be available to view on this website for five years from the time of the penalty.

View CDM penalties here.

View church officer penalties here.